Winning or Learning

6439f51a95518baeadc584fcaf7c5f85I have really enjoyed reflecting on life through this blog. I am so grateful for feedback from many of you, and for the opportunity to encourage many more of you to live your own extraordinary journey. I love writing about great experiences, influencial moments and opportunities fully embraced.

Today, however, is not one of those times. I set a few goals 89 days ago. The deadline is here – tomorrow – and I did not complete the goals.

My awesome, convicting and sometimes annoying (I usually feel that way when I am being a victim) coach, Tony, often reminds me that  “sometimes you win and sometimes you learn”. The only way that a failure is truly a failure is if I don’t learn. So today, on the precepice of my 90 Day Challenge, I choose to learn and to share a couple of those lessons with you.

lessons-learned

Lesson #1: Enlist Accountability

When I make a goal (commitment) I must set up firm accountability. I must enroll people on my “team” that will hold my feet to the fire. And in order for this to happen I must share my commitments with them openly. I recognize that I did not enlist firm accountability for the long, 90 day, haul. It looked pretty good for the first 30 days, but then I let things slide. It is difficult to enlist firm accountability without being firm in my commitments. Honestly I was not very firm in the commitments or action plan that would take me to my goal.

Lesson #2: Embrace Commitment

One goal I made was in relation to my health and releasing inches around my waist. Eating sweets does not serve me in reaching this goal. I really love sweets, but I committed to go without. That’s a great commitment but the problem is that I did not commit to going without sweets for the entire 90 days. I decided I would go until I no longer craved them. Go ahead and shake your head. I’m shaking mine too. What was I thinking? I made it 30 days with no sweets and I no longer craved them, but by day 37 I could no longer leave the sweets alone. My commitment was weak. My action plan was non-existent and I payed the price.

Lesson #3: Execute an Action Plan

Executing an action plan would require creating an action plan. Again, a 30 day action plan is not sufficient for a 90 day goal. Creating daily, weekly and monthly plans are critical in order to create real success. Sad to say, but I took more of a “fly by the seat of my pants” approach rather than developing a clear, concise action plan.

These lessons are great, but this learning is only as valuable to me as my willingness to implement change in the future. What goals are on your horizon? What are doing to ensure success on your extraordinary journey?

Be Extraordinary!

2 comments on “Winning or Learning

  1. Naomi Haynes says:

    Ironic that a Big Mac commercial followed your blog. Much worse for people than chocolate in my opinion! I think I learned from your blog that 30 day goals may be better in the long run than 90 day goals. On the other hand, I had trouble with our 4-week Reset challenge, but I still lost a few pounds and inches and several of my friends did too, so I see that as great success!

    • tracicast says:

      Naomi

      Funny about the Big Mac!
      I agree. I see the value of 90 days, but have also had greater success at 30 day challenges. I would also say that accountability, clear commitment and an action plan have been a part of my 30 day challenges.

      What is your next extraordinary challenge?

      Traci

Leave a Reply

