1/2 Marathon: Training

runWhile training for my first half marathon, I wrote out some thoughts and lessons I was learning. The following was written about five months before the race.

I am in the midst of training for my first half marathon. Actually, truth be told, I am in the midst of training for the training for my first half marathon. Every marathon or half marathon training program I have seen begins with the ability to jog or run three easy miles. It does not begin at “Couch to 5k” pace.

Running a half marathon – like most big goals or dreams – is not something we decide to do one day and go out and complete the next. This is especially true for an occasional, recreational runner like me.

Prepping for half marathon training has come with victories, challenges, and some life lessons in living an extraordinary life.

Pay the Price

The first way I payed the price was by actually signing up for a half marathon. I payed the money and the race is on my calendar. I will run (jog) the Sleeping Bear Dunes Half Marathon on October 5, 2014.

The next way I payed the price and will continue to pay the price is through accountability. I committed to my life and business coach that I would exercise four or more days each week. There is a financial risk attached to this commitment.

Obstacles will Arise

I began my training in the gym, on a treadmill. This winter was especially long so many workouts were spent on the treadmill. Three or four weeks into my training I injured my lower back. This was a first for me and I was immobilized for several days. After a full week of no running it was a big challenge to work back up to my previous pace and distance. In fact, it took me longer to regain my distance than it did when I first started. During this time the issue in my back moved to my hip and led to weakness in my left leg. I met with a personal trainer and did the required exercises to get back to full strength. This little obstacle was a three to four week detour in my training.

Use the Buddy System

My husband, Joe, made the decision to join me on this half marathon adventure and that decision has made a huge difference in my training. Now that the weather is better and I am running outside, Joe and I are doing many of our runs together. I have noticed that my pace per mile is almost a full minute faster when I run with Joe. Having a buddy makes a difference!

I have many “buddies” on the half marathon journey. The journey originally began with my friend Rachel who wants to run her first full marathon. We both committed to Sleeping Bear Dunes and signed up the same week. Now Ashley is running the marathon with Rachel. Clay, Lisa, and Terase are all running the half along with Joe and I. These buddies are encouraging me in my running journey each time I see them.

Application

Have you payed the price for your goals by setting a date and being accountable?

Are you so committed that no obstacle will keep you from achieving your goals?

Are you running the extraordinary life race alone or do you have race buddies who are in the thick of it with you, encouraging you along the way?

The extraordinary life is not always easy, but it is always worth it.

Be Extraordinary!

Read Joe’s post-half marathon thoughts by clicking here.

Read my post-half marathon thoughts by clicking here.

One comment on “1/2 Marathon: Training

  1. […] Read my half marathon training post by clicking here. […]

Leave a Reply

